Oahu Island Blog May 13-19, 2013 Issue#1

Oahu Island Blog

Photo by: Heath Beasley

The picture for the cover was taken at the Kahala Hotel & Resort on the beach.  This beach is one of my favorite places on the Island of Oahu.

Letter to the readers 

I’m not too much of a writer, but I’m going to make an honest effort to be the best!  In this blog I plan to explore the Island of Oahu, talk story, share art, talk current events, inspire, travel The Island of Oahu, and hopefully make you laugh.  I really don’t know what I intend to do. I feel like I’m about to jump off into the deep end of the pool.  (Smiling)Don’t worry I can swim.  For Pete sakes, I use to be in the Navy.  Although, I don’t have many Navy pictures, I had a great time!  But honestly, I hope to share and have a great time compiling material together.  So, come and join me in the deep end of the pool.

-Heath-

Does God Exist

Many people have asked the age old question, is there a God?   Well, to answer this question, let’s look to nature and to the Holy Bible, God’s Word.   I might as well say, let us bow our heads “ Dear Heavenly and gracious Father”.  Nah I’m playing, but seriously.   Does He exist?  I’m going to answer this question and about time I’m finish your eyes will be open to see and perceive (realize) the evidence (proof) of his existence.

So, before I answer this question, I’m going to ask a question.  I use to substitute teach at a local high school, and the students there got a kick out of me, every time they asked a question.  They would say “ ah mister every time we ask a question, you answer us with a question.”   The reason I do this, is to make them think.  Sometimes the answers to our questions are right in front of us.  But, to answer this question I’m asking you to recall, what you have observed since you were a child.  And to all the young people out there that maybe reading this, I’m asking you, to look at your surroundings.

Is this world perfect?  Many answer this question, and say no.  I’m not talking about, the people in this world.  I’m talking about the world, and everything else that it’s apart of.  The sun, moon, stars, and the other planets, and so forth.  The moon rotates around the Earth and the Earth around the sun.  Which creates our seasons: Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter.  Then within these seasons all the plants and trees go through their changes and cycles.  Which, is nature.   So, is this all a coincidence?  (Merriam – Webster.com coincidence: the occurrence of events that happen at the same time by accident but seem to have some connection  /  Dictionary.com coincidence: a striking occurrence of two or more events at one time apparently by mere chance).  The tides come and the tides go.  A year comes and a year goes.  But, yet the world continues on its cycle and stays on its course.  Is it an accident that all these things work together by mere chance?  There is too much order for this to be a coincidence.

Sun rise from an airplane

Sun rise from an airplane
Photo by: Heath Beasley

Therefore, this order had to be created by somebody, or someone.  (Holy Bible KJV Genesis 1:1) “In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.”  Pretty strait forward, then it goes on to say. (Genesis 1:14-17) And God said, Let there be lights in the firmament of heaven to divide the day from the night; and let them be for signs, and for seasons, and for days, and years:  And let them be for lights in the firmament of heaven to give light upon the earth: and it was so.  And God made two great lights; the greater light to rule the day, and the lesser light to rule the night: he made the stars also.   And God set them in the firmament of the heaven to give light upon the earth.”  And it goes on to say “ God saw that it was good”.

The watch, manmade: the time, God made.

The watch, manmade: the time, God made.
Photo by: Heath Beasley

Let’s look at this question, in another way.  A watch, is a manmade device that keeps time. Time is too precise to be a coincidence, it was made by someone and that someone is God.  Let your eyes be open to see the evidence around you.  God made it. God exist.

Pacific Beach Hotel

Pacific Beach Hotel

Pacific Beach Hotel, Waikiki, Honolulu, Hawai’i
Photo by: Heath Beasley

For Mother’s Day we went down to the Pacific Beach Hotel, in beautiful Waikiki. Now, I have four words for you. All you can eat!  Yes!  All you can eat sea food: shrimps, fish, oysters, muscles, and best of all, crab legs!  You know I torn that junk up! It was highly pleasing to my senses.  It was delicious, son! Oh, and by the way there’s stuff there for land lover too: rice, spare ribs, roast beef, chicken, mac salad, toss salad, and much, much more.

buffet from top

Buffet line at the Oceanarium, Pacific Beach
Photo by: Heath Beasley

So, let me communicate to you the atmosphere.  We pulled up to the hotel around 6:09pm Hawaii time, I was late.  They start seating at 5:30pm, forgive me for my tardiness.  But it’s all good. The Oceanarium Restaurant that we went to is buffet style dining.  There were two seatings that night one at 5:30 and the other at 7:30 or 8pm, one of the two.  I didn’t concern myself with the small stuff.  But, the food was good for the amount of volume that they had to put out to accommodate such a large number of people.  That’s understandable and one thing you always want to keep in mind when you go to a buffet place that caters to a large mass of people.  The staff there was excellent, and even thou there was a lot of patrons to serve I still managed to have a full soda when ever I wanted.  Let me share something with you; I hate when I go to a place and can’t get a drink because my waiter took a vacation.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I tip real good and I’m a nice guy .  I don’t ask for all kind of crazy stuff.   Just a drink, and they had these small glasses too.  I even tip better when the service is substandard just to make a point.  But, they did a great job, they took away our dirty plates right away it was like that butler in that Adam Sandler movie “Mr. Deeds” it’s pretty funny you have to watch it.

Sting ray in the Oceanarium, Waikiki Oahu

This is from above the Oceanarium Restaurant
Photo by: Heath Beasley

The backdrop of the restaurant is a huge fish tank, scratch that it’s an aquarium, with all type of sea creatures in it.  The aquarium spans from one side of the restaurant to the other .  You can even pay to have the swimmer that goes in there to feed the fish write a message for that special someone you’re trying to impress.  It’s cool!  While I was in Peter Parker mode this guy allowed me to follow him and these other people to this other restaurant above the Oceanarium, and I took some sensational photographs.  I think I might work the National Geographic. I can see it now!  Out in the wild taking pictures of grizzle bears.  That ain’t happening.

all sweets

The Dessert Buffet at the Oceanarium Restaurant at the Pacific Beach Hotel, Oahu
Photo by: Heath Beasley

Now, you maybe wondering how much all this cost, and that’s a good question.  If you’re sitting down you’re going to have to stand up for this one and if you’re standing up you’re going to have to sit down.  Each person is $50.00, yeah if you’re not Adam Sandler you gonna have to rob a bank.  And, if you’re taking somebody else, you might have to rob two banks. But, they do have a chocolate fountain, and you can put whatever you want in there.  Nah I’m just playing.

So, overall it was a good experience as always.  This wasn’t my first time here, and I’m sure it won’t be the last.  The Oceanarium is a once a year place for me , but a place I always love coming back to.

Video of the Week

I saw this video many years  ago and today when I was writing about the National Geographic it made think of this.   You can’t just watch it once (lol).

Comic Strip of the Week

By: Heath Beasley

Text this!   So, the next time you see someone on their cell phone don't climb out your car just blow your horn at them.

Text this!

Text this!  So the next time you see someone on their cell phone don’t climb out your car just blow your horn at them.

Have a great week, and don’t forget, please leave a comment.

 

Leave a comment