Oahu Island Blog June 3 – 9, 2013 Issue #4

Oahu Island Blog

This is a picture of the Iolani Palace in Honolulu, Hawaii, on the Island of Oahu.

God and man’s enemy.

If you believe in God you also have to accept that Lucifer, Satan, the devil is real. The devil is the angel that attempted to over throw God but he was casted out of heaven, him and his followers (fallen angels, demons, evil spirits). They are now awaiting eternal condemnation. But, until then Satan wants to destroy what God has created. You and me. He wants us to be cut off from God, forever just like he is. There is a law that God created that condemns Satan and all who sin. (Romans 6:23) “For the wages of sin is death…” Death! I’m not talking about dying and going to heaven; I’m talking about eternal death, in the lake of fire forever cut off from God. This is real. This is written in every Bible (Revelation 21:8) “But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.”

The devil is plotting to take man down with him.

The devil is plotting to take man down with him.

So Satan appeared in the garden and had a conversation with Eve; where he lied to her and caused her and her husband Adam to sin. This sin caused a break in man’s relationship with God. The devil knew if he could get God’s creation to listen to him; he could bring eternal damnation to the human race. This is the one sin that caused all man to be under sin (under the influence or power of sin, or born into sin). Our proper place was with our creator, God. But (Romans 3:23) “all have sinned …” It’s not our fault. Its because of Adam’s decision in the garden that we’re all born in sin. (Psalms 51:5) “Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me.” Now this is where it get pretty thick. We can choose if we want to have God in our lives. It’s a free choice. God does not force anyone to do anything. This is how the devil fights us. If we don’t believe that God is real, we will not choose God. The devil works to make unbelief happen. The devil also wants no one to believe that even he (the devil) is real. (Causing people to believe there’s no one fighting them or preventing them from believing in God’s word.) The devil and his minions comes in a person’s thoughts without them even knowing their there. They give people advice about what they should do and how they should do it. What people should believe and what they should not believe. When I was a kid I use to watch Tom and Jerry, the cartoon show. You know the cat and the mouse. Well, in some of the episodes they would put an angel and a devil on the shoulder’s of a character. And, the angel would try to convince the character to do good; at the same time the little devil is telling the character to do bad. This portrayal isn’t far from the truth. The devil and his army of evil angels want to sway God’s creation further from the truth. Can you relate to this? I know I can. But be of good cheer God has of way.

Eat the street at Kakaako.

Do you like food and lots of it? But, have a problem deciding what you want to eat? Don’t worry I have the same problem. And I have the solution just for you, “Eat The Street” at Kakaako. Kakaako is a very special place on Oahu where the people take great pride in their up and coming community. (side track) As I was walking to the venue I couldn’t help but see all of the artwork on the walls. After the first few murals I started snapping pictures.

Painting of her face on the wall

Her face on the wall

(back on track) “Eat The Street” So, I come into the great gathering and immediately I’m greeted with the smell of a party. I take that back, it smells like a carnival!

DJ at Kakaako

DJ at Kakaako

There’s music and everybody is just having a good time. I smell donuts, garlic shrimp, barbecue, and pizza I’m telling you my olfactory became a new factory, the smells just brought me alive. I felt like a kid again! So I jumped in a popsicle line. I had my son with me. He’s four. And out of all of that stuff he picks out the frozen fruit pops. “Really” I said to myself you can have anything you want, and he wants a popsicle (we have popsicles at home). So, I did what any good dad would do… I stood in line for a popsicle.(lol) The only thing bad I would say is the lines but I had good company. Time really did fly and I had a prior engagement that I had to attend (church). But anyways we had the waffle dogs which my daughter wanted to try; it was pretty interesting. A hotdog cooked inside a waffle. I suggest the syrup on top. It was alright I’m not going to stand on top of a table and do the waffle dog dance or anything, I just thought its pretty creative putting a hotdog inside of a waffle.

waffledogs

Waffledogs

Moving on as I digress, I wanted some barbecue ribs, but bout time we got there there were no more ribs left. (tear) Let me take out my violin and play some feel sorry for me music. So there I was ( off the coast of Madagascar) moving through the crowd I saw this guy with a taco wrap and I asked him where he got from. Then we went to that food truck. By the time we got our food it was time for us to go.

Artist Bother

Artist Bother at Eat the Street

But we will be back. (in my Arnold Schwarzenegger voice) I’ll be back. I realize from that experience I need to allow us more time. The kids and I had a great time. Oh yeah so I never explained what “eat the streets” is all about. Basically it is a bunch of food trucks from all over the island and they meet in this one spot at Kakaako on the last Friday of the month. And the rest is history. The atmosphere is very pleasant and you’re sure to have a great time. Quick shout out to

“Bother” an artist I met while I was out there. Aloha! And a big Aaaaaaaloooohaaa to all of you that read this post, thank you and God bless you all.

Video of the Week 

This is a pretty funny video. If you suggestion of funny videos please send me some links I can always go for a good laugh.  I like when the guy gets up and slips.

Comic Strip of the Week

Bug in eyeThe most debilitating thing in the world is getting a bug stuck in your eye.

Have a great week!

Mahalo,

-Heath-

One thought on “Oahu Island Blog June 3 – 9, 2013 Issue #4

  1. A bug in your eye, makes me want to cry! I feel like eating and apple pie. Bye bye!

Leave a comment